Over the weekend Edmonton hosted the 13th annual Country Music Alberta Awards and some Airdronians did not leave empty-handed.

This year's awards show had plenty of local talent and garnered many nominations for a bunch of different award categories, which included Kyle McKearney, Brandon Lorenzo, Nice Horse, Flaysher, Megan Dawson, and Hayley Isabel.

McKearney walked away with the most wins, garnering four. He took home the prize for "Roots Artist of the Year", and "Video of the Year" with his and Sarah McKeearney's song "Whispering Pines". He also won "Songwriter of the Year" with his hit "Sober" and "Album of the Year" with "A Travelers Lament".

12-year-old Airdronian Hayley Isabel won an award for the "Horizon Youth Award".

Nice Horse also came away with one award, winning "Horizon Group or Duo of the Year". They were also nominated for "Horizon Song of the Year", "Songwriters Song of the Year" with "Somethin' Bout You" and "Interactive Artist of the Year."

Brandon Lorenzo did not win an award, but was nominated for "Horizon Male Artist of the Year". He also performed at the kick-off party along with Nice Horse. Lorenzo has a total of 10 nominations for the awards show over his career.

This year, Megan Dawson was nominated for one award, that being Video of the Year for her song "To Fall In Love".  Last year she was nominated for four awards.

Airdrie Band Flaysher received two Horizon Group/Duo and Community Spirit Award nominations. Last year they were nominated for three different awards.

The awards show took place on March 9 and 10 at the Edmonton Convention Centre.

Send your news tips, story ideas, pictures, and videos to news@discoverairdrie.com. You can also message and follow us on Twitter: @AIR1061FM

DiscoverAirdrie encourages you to get your news directly from your trusted source by bookmarking this page and downloading the DiscoverAirdrie app. For breaking news, weather and contest alerts click here.