Various local fire departments have announced that firefighters will be deployed to areas around Alberta to combat the wildfires that have triggered a provincial state of emergency over the weekend.

Thus far, the Carstairs Fire Department has confirmed that two members of their department will be deployed to Drayton Valley to assist with the protection of the town of Drayton Valley.

The Olds Fire Department also confirmed that four of their firefighters will also be deploying. Airdrie's Fire Department said that as of now, no firefighters will be deploying. 

As a result of the unusually hot and dry conditions, the entire province is under a fire ban. No open burning is allowed, including backyard fire pits, inside the Forest Protection Area. The fire ban is applicable to forest protection areas and provincial parks. Currently, the City of Airdrie is under a fire advisory. 

In addition, a provincial off-highway vehicle restriction is also in place, which means the recreational use of off-highway vehicles on public land, including on designated OHV trails, is prohibited.

On Sunday, May 7, the province stated that more than 29,000 individuals have been evacuated from communities throughout north and central Alberta. There are now 108 wildfires burning province-wide, with 27 of those fires deemed out of control.

Mandatory evacuation orders are in effect for the following areas.

  • Parts of Brazeau County, including the town of Drayton Valley. 
  • Parts of Northern Sunrise County.
  • The entire town of Rainbow Lake. 
  • Fox Creek, Little Smoky and surrounding areas. 
  • Parts of Sturgeon Lake Cree Nation and the Municipal District of Greenview. 
  • Parts of the County of Grande Prairie. 
  • Parts of Big Lakes County.
  • Parts of Lac Ste Anne County. 
  • Parts of Yellowhead County, including the town of Edson.
  • The communities of Whitefish River and Aitkameg. Evacuees should register at the Town of Slave Lake office, at 10 Main Street, Slave Lake.
  • Parkland County and the Hamlet of Entwistle. 
  • Residents of the following areas should be prepared to evacuate on short notice:
    • The Grovesdale area of the Municipal District of Greenview.
    • The area west of Beaverdam Provincial Recreation Area and east of the Bighorn Dam, including the hamlet of Nordegg.
    • Parts of the County of Grande Prairie, including the Pipestone Creek area.
    • The town of High Prairie.
    • Parts of Wetaskiwin County.
    • The town of Valleyview.

Eighteen declared states of local emergency and two band council resolutions include:

  • Big Lakes County
  • Brazeau County
  • Clear Hills County
  • Clearwater County
  • Drayton Valley
  • Town of Edson
  • MD of Fairview
  • Fox Creek
  • Gift Lake Metis Settlement
  • County of Grande Prairie
  • Town of High Prairie
  • Northern Sunrise County
  • East Prairie Metis Settlement
  • Saddle Hills County
  • Lac St. Anne County
  • Parkland County
  • Rainbow Lake
  • Yellowhead County
  • The Little Red River Cree Nation (Fox Lake) has declared a band council resolution
  • Whitefish Lake First Nation has declared a band council resolution

For up-to-the-minute Alberta Emergency Alert information, visit Alberta Emergency Alert

Albertans who wish to help can make cash donations through the Canadian Red Cross or within their regions to a recognized charitable organization of their choice.

Send your news tips, story ideas, pictures, and videos to