A new task group will figure out how to meet the support needed for Ukrainian refugees arriving in Alberta.

Numerous Ukrainians have arrived safely in Alberta since the spring after fleeing the conflict in their own country. The government of Alberta has pledged $23 million to help Ukrainians who want to remain in their own country and those who choose to make Alberta their new home, for however long that may be.

The Premier's Advisory Task Force on Ukraine will interact with Alberta's Ukrainian population, not-for-profits, and organizations that are aiding Ukrainian newcomers to ensure the proper settlement services are available. It will highlight methods by which the government of Alberta may aid Ukrainian evacuees in settling and integrating into communities all over the province.

“Ukrainian people were among the first to move to Alberta and make a life here and now hundreds of thousands of Albertans of Ukrainian descent call our province home. Since the Russian invasion of Ukraine, Albertans have opened their hearts and homes and provided support through donations and humanitarian aid. This new task force is yet another way Albertans stand with Ukraine and the Ukrainian people,” stated Alberta Premier Danielle Smith.

The task force will be led by Jackie Armstrong-Homeniuk, parliamentary secretary for Ukrainian Refugee Settlement, and will include individuals with strong ties to the Ukrainian community. The task group will host roundtables across the province to hear directly from the Ukrainian community and those welcoming newcomers. In its final report, the task committee will offer both short- and long-term recommendations.

The task force includes the following members:

  • Jackie Armstrong-Homeniuk, parliamentary secretary for Ukrainian Refugee Settlement.

  • Ed Stelmach, former premier.

  • Sally Mansour, non-profit executive and emergency management specialist in the non-profit sector.

  • Kevin Royle, firefighter and Firefighter Aid Ukraine project director.

  • Carol Slukynski, founder of Helping Ukrainians in Fort Saskatchewan.

  • Vitaliy Milentyev, chairman of the supervisory board at the National Depository Ukraine.

  • Jenn Schmidt-Rempel, councillor, City of Lethbridge.

Send your news tips, story ideas, pictures, and videos to news@discoverairdrie.com