Airdrie East MLA Angela Pitt awarded 20 Airdrie East constituents with Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee Medal.

To commemorate the 70th anniversary of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II's accession to the throne as Queen of Canada, a special commemorative medal has been produced.

The Platinum Jubilee Medal for Queen Elizabeth II is a way for Alberta to recognize Her Majesty's contributions to Canada. 7,000 Albertans will receive Queen Elizabeth II's Platinum Jubilee Medal in 2022 in honour of their noteworthy contributions to the province.

Here is the list of the residents that received the medal:

  • Mr. Dirk Bannister
  • Mr. Joseph Barton
  • Ms. Michelle Bates
  • Mr. Aaron Braham
  • Mr. Neil Brine
  • Ms. Wendy Contant
  • Ms. Melissa Daum
  • Mr. George J Dunn
  • Mr. Tim Ford
  • Cst. David Gerrard
  • Mr. Steve Gilliss
  • Mr. Dennis Hawkins
  • Mr. Mckenzie Hughes
  • Mr. Paul Hughes
  • Mr. Steven McPhee
  • Mr. Colin Nichols
  • Mr. Richard Proctor
  • Mr. Larry Skaalrud
  • Mr. Brent Wood
  • Mr. Kent F Duff

“I am honoured to have the opportunity to recognize the contributions of outstanding Albertans. These individuals have done incredible things for our community and our province and I am so grateful to have had an opportunity to celebrate them by presenting them recipients with their Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee Medal,” stated Pitt.

The medals were presented to the recipients on December 8.

Send your news tips, story ideas, pictures, and videos to