Five candidates have put their names forward for a seat on Irricana town council during a by-election set for May 17th.

The by-election is needed to fill the council vacancy left when Mayor Frank Friesen resigned his position on March 24th.  In a post on the Town of Irricana's Facebook page, Friesen wrote that with "great sadness" that he was tendering his resignation, effective immediately.  He said that he and his husband were relocating outside of Irricana.

On April 6th the town set a deadline of midnight on April 19th for nominations and five people came forward before that deadline.  The five running for the council seat are: Jim Bryson, Nathaniel Fleming, Stephanie Katelnikoff, Jeremie Page, and Julie Sim.

Voting for the council seat will be held during two days.  An advance vote is set for Tuesday, May 10th between 8:30 am and 12:30 pm and again from 1:3- and 4:00 pm.  Election day is on Tuesday, May 17th with polls open from 10:00 am to 8:00 pm.  Both the advance and the main vote go at the Irricana Town Office, 222 2nd St.  

There is no word yet on whether a forum to let residents hear the candidate's platforms will be held.

Once the entire council is in place, councillors will hold an internal vote to fill Friesen's shoes for the Mayor's position.    

Send your news tips, story ideas, pictures, and videos to