A first-year teacher from the Beiseker Community School has been nominated by Rocky View Schools to receive the Edwin Parr Teacher Award for 2023. Brandy Perry is the lucky nominee. 

According to RVS, each year a first-year teacher is nominated to receive the Alberta School Boards Association Edwin Parr Award.

RVS stated that among Ms. Perry's accomplishments, is the enthusiastic and very successful stirring up of support for her foods program, so much so, that almost every student in Grades 7, 8 and 9 chose foods as their option for the second semester. This caused the school to change the timetable mid-year to accommodate the students' wishes. She has also coached two different sports teams, participated in multiple student council events and helped with a school-wide talent show.

"Brandy fully and seamlessly integrated into Rocky View Schools and Beiseker Community School. Ms. Perry, along with two of her grade 11 students, presented a student showcase to Rocky View School Trustees. This presentation highlighted how hands-on learning in the classroom connects with real-world situations through the Entertaining with Foods instructional module."

Not only were the skills of the students showcased, but members of the school community were provided with an opportunity to socialize and connect.

"Brandy’s outgoing and bubbly personality has a positive effect on everyone in our building. She is willing to help anyone she can at any time. Her endless energy has sparked excitement around the building. We are looking forward to more culture-building and events organized by Ms. Perry."

According to RVS, Ms. Perry has had a positive impact on everyone at Beiseker Community School.

"She is willing to help anyone she can at any time, and her endless energy has sparked excitement around the building."

The Edwin Parr Teacher Award has annually recognized excellent first-year teachers across Alberta since 1964 and is named after a first-year teacher and President of the Alberta School Trustees' Association, Edwin Parr.

"To honour his memory and to honour the profession he so dearly respected, the Alberta School Trustee’s Association (now ASBA) established the Edwin Parr Teacher Award in 1964."

However, Ms. Perry was not the only first-year teacher to be considered for the award, Ms. Taylor Thompson's name (East Lake School) was also put forward. 

Send your news tips, story ideas, pictures, and videos to news@discoverairdrie.com